St Paul’s by William Wordsworth

I have to thank Tim Miller and his podcast “Human voices wake us” for bringing this great London poem to my attention.

St Paul’s from Tate Modern

Pressed with conflicting thoughts of love and fear
I parted from thee, Friend, and took my way
Through the great City, pacing with an eye
Downcast, ear sleeping, and feet masterless
That were sufficient guide unto themselves,
And step by step went pensively. Now, mark!
Not how my trouble was entirely hushed,
(That might not be) but how, by sudden gift,
Gift of Imagination’s holy power,
My Soul in her uneasiness received
An anchor of stability. — It chanced
That while I thus was pacing, I raised up
My heavy eyes and instantly beheld,
Saw at a glance in that familiar spot
A visionary scene—a length of street
Laid open in its morning quietness,
Deep, hollow, unobstructed, vacant, smooth,
And white with winter’s purest white, as fair,
As fresh and spotless as he ever sheds
On field or mountain. Moving Form was none
Save here and there a shadowy Passenger
Slow, shadowy, silent, dusky, and beyond
And high above this winding length of street,
This moveless and unpeopled avenue,
Pure, silent, solemn, beautiful, was seen
The huge, majestic Temple of St Paul
In awful sequestration, through a veil,
Through its own sacred veil of falling snow.

St Paul’s from Millennium bridge

7 thoughts on “St Paul’s by William Wordsworth

  1. Nice one! Looking forward to new posts in the coming year. Definitely returning to England some time in 2023. My grandson, 6 years old, is obsessed about seeing Big Ben! It will be great sharing this time with him. Oh, I won’t take him to the gin place you mentioned, that pleasure will be mine alone. All the best to you for 2023!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this post. I just sat staring at your picture through the Tate Modern window for the longest time… It’s quite striking really. You do give the poem a reason to be read that I might not have noticed otherwise. Awesome tour guide!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment