La La Land – Damien Chazelle (2016)

rs-248320-emma-stone-ryan-goseling-la-la-land-sing-dance-trailer1

I am almost loathe to review this because so much has been written about it over the past few weeks, nevertheless here is my two cents worth.

I understand why this movie has had such mixed reviews. The plot has holes, the storyline is unlikely, the dialogue is stilted on occasion, the music is not quite jazz…..

However, I enjoyed its inventiveness, the cinematography is amazing, the soundtrack is pretty and the ending is perfect and touching. Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling are likeable and fully committed to their roles. Their singing and dancing is good too.

The opening sequence sets the scene well, if you don’t like that, you can leave early, because you won’t like the rest of the film – it has the best dance routine and it lets you know that you are going to touch reality only intermittently.

I particularly loved the complexity of the final scene, a definite homage to “An American in Paris”. This finale was never going to be universally acclaimed and Damien Chazelle must have realised this and decided to go for it anyway. It was a brave decision and this final song gives the film a  new depth and intensity.

The good parts of this film are so good that you want to overlook the less good bits. All in all it is one the best films that I have seen in years.

I hope it wins some Academy Awards; definitely best cinematography, probably best original score, possibly even best director and best film.

4 thoughts on “La La Land – Damien Chazelle (2016)

  1. We are completely on the same page with our thoughts on this movie. Of course, this means I will now have to scrap the review that I was working on for my own blog, since you just said everything that I was going to say, and come at it from a different angle. But I love a challenge, so this should be fun… 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I didn’t enjoy a lot of this film, after an hour I was ready to leave the theatre but I was glad that I didn’t because the final twenty minutes or so are just wonderful, starting with the audition scene and through to the (almost) alternative ending.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

